Sunday, July 11, 2010

Ike Yard - Nord

Legendary No Wave band release new material

Back in 1981-83 New York Based Ike Yard were amongst the leading acts within the booming post punk/ no wave scene. After an explosive, yet shortlived career, with an album released on legendary Mancunian Factory Records, the band called it quits in 1983.
The history of Ike Yard is like a cross section of what was happening in the post punk/ no wave scene anno 1982. Ike Yard has performed with New order at Ukranian National Home, with Section 25 at the Peppermint Lounge, at Maxwell’s with Suicide & 13:13 (Lydia Lunch).
After Ike Yard split in 1983, former member Stuart Argabright went to West Berlin where he worked with members of Malaria, DAF & Liaisons Dangereuses.
Now 26 years later the three original members have regrouped and recorded new material to be released as Nord on desire.
Musically Ike Yard picks up where they left. Still strongly influenced by the early post punk/ no wave scene that they once were an important part of, side by side with fellow acts such as Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle and Suicide, Ike Yard does manage to show a somehow lighter, more melodic side to their sound. And production wise the sound of Ike Yard anno 2010 is definitively richer, more detailed and – perhaps even - accessible.
Nord contains tracks recorded in producer Paul Geluso’s studio in New York, and draws inspiration from band members extensive travelling in Europe and mainly Japan.

1 - Traffikers
2 - Mirai
3 - Masochistic
4 - Oshima Cassette
5 - Metallic Blank
6 - Beautifully Terrible
7 - Type N
8 - Citiesglit
9 - Shimmer
10 - Orange Tom
11 - Robot Steppes

CD is available in our shop now. LP and digital will be available soon.

No comments:

Post a Comment